Firing “accidents” become unique pieces

Silver coloured bronze (or white bronze) is particularly difficult to fire, or my kiln has problems and the temperature is not even. Besides, this bronze does not have a very wide firing temperature range

Left firing at good temperature , right firing almost at melt temperature

When it overheats , the bronze starts to melt and the result is mostly a ball of metal . But every now and then some of the metal starts to bead up which gives a very interesting look. These near misses become really unique pieces that I keep and sell of course.

Left white bronze that has overheated (I love it) right yellow bronze normal firing it would be the same with white bronze without overheating.

I have tried in vain to reproduce the phenomenon but it depends on the space in the kiln, the number of pieces firing, the location high up in the charcoal containers and I have had dozens of pieces lost for 1 or 2 such pieces.Besides, impossible to get this effect with yellow bronze or copper. 😀

Large vegetal goldbronze ring with pearls

A client wanted a voluminous plant style ring with pearls. I created this ring with the intention of putting 1 to 3 freshwater pearls in it. I had several types of freshwater pearls in different sizes and colours.

I put beads on the stems and took pictures so she could choose
setting only 2 beads unbalanced the ring . It needed 1 or 3
which one would you choose?

My last news

You will find here my latest news, the artfairs and artmarkets i’ll be attending , the shops that will sell my jewellery.
I intend to organize some workshops and they will be announced here too.
To see my other publications grouped in categories, see in the right column on PC or at the bottom of the page on mobiles and tablets
come back often

Les beaux ratés

Le bronze couleur argent (ou bronze blanc) est particulièrement difficile à cuire, ou alors mon four a des problèmes et la température n’y est pas égale. De plus, ce bronze n’a pas une amplitude de température de cuisson très large

A gauche cuisson à bonne température , à droite cuisson presque à température de fonte

Lorsque ça surchauffe , le bronze commence à fondre et le résultat est la plupart du temps une boule de métal . Mais de temps en temps une partie du métal commence à perler ce qui donne un aspect très interessant. Ces presque ratés deviennent des pièces vraiment uniques que je garde et mets en vente bien sur

A gauche bronze blanc qui a surchauffé (j’adore) à droite bronze jaune cuisson normale ça serait la même chose avec le bronze blanc sans surchauffe.

J’ai vainement essayé de reproduire le phénomène mais ça dépend de la place dans le four, du nombre de pièces en cuisson, de l’emplacement en hauteur dans les containers de charbon de bois et j’ai eu des dizaines de pièces perdues pour 1 ou 2 pièces de ce genre . par ailleurs, impossible d’obtenir cet effet avec le bronze jaune ou le cuivre. 😀

Grande bague végétale & perles

Une cliente voulait une bague volumineuse de style végétal avec des perles. j’ai créé cette bague en bronze couleur or en prévoyant d’y mettre de 1 à 3 perles d’eau douce. J’avais plusieurs sortes de perles en couleurs et forme et je lui ai donné le choix

j’ai posé des perles sur les tiges et pris des photos pour qu’elle puisse choisir
ne mettre que 2 perles déséquilibrait la bague il en fallait 1 ou 3
laquelle auriez vous choisi ?

Mes actualités

Bonjour
Vous trouverez ici mes dernières actualités les salons et marchés auxquels je vais participer, les boutiques qui vendront mes bijoux .
Pour voir mes autres publications regroupées en rubriques voyez en colonne de droite sur PC ou en bas de page sur mobiles et tablettes
revenez souvent